Vegan Gluten Free Bread (Oil free)

I have been working on this bread recipe for quite some time, experimenting with different flour combinations.  I think I finally have the perfect vegan, gluten free AND oil free bread that can be baked in a loaf pan.  I’ve tried using my bread machine, but it seems to knead the dough too much, which then makes the loaf fall flat when baking.  No more tiny prepackaged, frozen slices of bread for me!

20150315_141452

Ingredients

  • 1 c warm water
  • 1/4 c honey or maple syrup (warmed)
  • 1/4 c apple sauce
  • 2 packets yeast (2 1/4 t = 1 packet)
  • 1 c non dairy milk
  • 2 T apple cider vinegar
  • 2 T flax meal
  • 2 c brown rice flour
  • 1 1/2 c potato starch
  • 1/2 c oat flour
  • 1/3 c arrowroot
  • 1/4 c hemp seeds (optional)
  • 1/4 c uncooked millet or amaranth (optional)
  • 1 T guar gum
  • 1 t sea salt

image     image

 

 

 

 

 

image     image

 

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 350
  • Combine warm water, honey or maple syrup, apple sauce and yeast packets in a small bowl or measuring cup.  Allow yeast to proof.
  • Combine milk, apple cider vinegar and flax meal in another small bowl or measuring cup.
  • In a large bowl, add the remaining dry ingredients and whisk together.
  • Once yeast has proofed, add the milk mixture to the yeast mixture and stir.
  • Slowly pour the wet ingredients in with the dry ingredients.  Stirring until a dough ball forms.
  • Transfer the dough into a loaf pan and let rise for 10-20 minutes.
  • Bake on middle rack for 70-80 minutes.  Test for doneness by inserting knife into center of loaf, making sure that it comes out clean.
  • After removing from oven, let sit in loaf pan for 10 minutes before placing on rack to cool.

Enjoy!!

image     image

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_2002

 

Because there are no added preservatives, this bread will keep better in the fridge.  I generally slice my bread as needed.  I think that it will dry out if you slice the whole loaf at once.  Toasting your slices will bring back that fresh, out of the oven taste.  We love topping slices with nut butter, honey and cardamom or cinnamon.  Topping toasted slices with coconut butter and garlic salt is the perfect addition to a pasta or salad.  You’ll find that this bread is also dense enough to be prepared as french toast.  Hope you like it as much as we do!!

 

2 comments

  1. Hmmm, mine looks much like this but was starting to burn and is still very gummy on the inside. It is very dense. Is this typical? Could I have done something wrong with my yeast? I thought I had all ingredients but didn’t have arrowroot. Could that have done it?
    My 10 year old loves it. Toasted with olive tampenade, toasted and soaking up some great carmelized garlic olive oil that was a Christmas gift. But still, very gummy!
    I won’t give up!
    Thank you for the inspiration!

    Like

    • Hi Amy,
      I have actually had that happen to me as well. Very frustrating!! For me, many times it was because my yeast did not proof as it should. Either the water was too hot, or not warm enough. I have also made sure that I combine the honey or maple syrup with the warm water and yeast. This seems to help activate the yeast. It should start to foam after sitting for a few minutes. I’m also thinking that the lack of arrowroot may be a cause. Arrowroot does help with making bread fluffier. Hope this helps! Your caramelized garlic oil sounds yummy!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

