Vegan Parmesan Cheez

A sprinkle here…..a sprinkle there…..sometimes I can’t control myself!  I takes longer to measure out these 3 ingredients than it does to make this vegan parm.  It keeps well in the refrigerator, giving just about any dish an extra boost.

img_4854

Ingredients

1 c raw cashews

1/2 c nutritional yeast

1 t sea salt

img_4855     img_4856

 

 

 

Directions

Combine all ingredients in food processor and process until crumbly.  Do not over process. You don’t want the cashews to release their oils and turn your parm into paste.

 

img_4857

 

I find that I sprinkle this vegan parm on just about everything.  Salads, soups, stews, pastas, potatoes, popcorn, roasted vegetables…..  The sky is the limit!  Want to flavor your cheez?  Add 1/2 teaspoon of your favorite spice.  Garlic, chili powder, onion powder, sage, red pepper flakes…..  Whatever you like.  You can also make an easy pesto by combining this parm with fresh basil, a clove or two of garlic, a bit of olive oil, water and a touch of lemon juice.  Trust me…..it’s quite addictive!

 

 

 

 

5 comments

  1. What would you recommend as a substitute for cashews? My son is severely allergic so I don’t even like to have them in the house.

    Like

  2. […] Pulse about 1 cup of chickpeas (or 1 can drained/rinsed) in food processor until coarsely chopped. In bowl combine with desired amount of veganaise (I prefer the grapeseed oil) or my  Creamy Cashew Sauce. Add a tablespoon or so of capers, 1 green onion sliced thin and a few chopped sundried tomatoes. You can also prepare with sliced green onions and pickles.  Serve over greens with a touch of apple cider vinegar or rice wine vinegar.  I added avocado and a sprinkle of my Vegan Parmesan Cheez. […]

    Like

  3. […] Since my garden is working overtime, I picked red/green lettuce, baby kale, spinach and arugula for the greens.  Rummaging around in the fridge I found quinoa, sundried tomatoes, cucumber, yellow/red peppers, green olives and some pickles.  A sprinkle of hemp seeds and dried mulberries.  My herb bucket needed trimming, so I chopped up parsley, cilantro, chives, basil and lemon balm.  Topped with turmeric vinaigrette and Vegan Parmesan Cheez. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

