Superfood Cereal

My husband devours cereal.  He’ll eat it for breakfast, lunch, dinner, a snack or dessert.  Needless to say, we go thru a lot of cereal!  I found myself buying boxes and boxes every time I went food shopping.  Getting quite frustrated with the small packaging and outrageous prices of healthy, organic cereal, I was determined to make my own.  The cereal aisle can be quite overwhelming with all of the choices.  Hot cereal, cold cereal, granola, puffs, twigs…..you get my point.  I decided to pretty much combine everything into one cereal that could be eaten hot or cold.

image

Ingredients

  • 1 c old fashioned rolled oats (not quick oats)
  • 1 c creamy buckwheat cereal (I used Bob’s Redmill)
  • 1/2 c chia seeds
  • 1/2 c flaxmeal
  • 1/2 c hemp seeds
  • 1/2 c raw pumpkin seeds
  • 1/2 c raw sunflower seeds
  • 1/2 c amaranth
  • 1/2 c cacao nibs
  • 1/2 c unsweetened coconut flakes
  • 1/2 c dried goji berries
  • 1/2 c dried mullberries
  • 1/2 c dried unsweetened cranberries
  • 1/2 c dried unsweetened cherries
  • 1 t cinnamon
  • 1/2 t sea salt

image

Directions

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl and stir until completely mixed.  Store in glass jars (I use the Ball mason jars).  This makes 8 cups of cereal.

image

Enjoy!

Feel free to substitute any of the dried fruits.  Raisins, currants, chopped, dried unsweetened apricots… I would make sure that you try to use unsweetened fruits.  Otherwise this cereal will be really sweet.  You can eat this cereal warm or cold.  With non dairy milk or juice.  Yes, my husband eats his cereal with juice!  This makes a great non-dairy yogurt or ice cream topping.  Speaking of yogurt, I need to post my cashew cream yogurt recipe!

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

