Creamy Cashew Spinach Dip

I have always loved spinach dip.  The creaminess combined with spices and spinach was the best.  Give me a bowl of spinach dip and a bag of chips or crackers…I’m good to go.  Yes, I could eat an entire batch without even thinking about it.  Going vegan and gluten free automatically disrupted a lot of my appetizer ‘go to’ dishes until I recreated this flavorful dip.  I use my cashew cream sauce as a base, then add spices and chopped spinach.  This is a fantastic appetizer to bring to a party.  Many of my non-vegan friends devour this without even knowing that it is made from cashews.  I love it when I can sneak in a vegan dish!

 

 

Ingredients

  •  Creamy Cashew Sauce
  • 8 oz cut frozen spinach (thawed with excess liquid squeezed out)
  • 1 t garlic powder
  • 1 T onion flakes
  • 1 T unsalted herbs and spices seasonings (I like Braggs 24 herbs and spices)

 

 

 

image

image

Directions

Make creamy cashew sauce according to directions.  After thawing spinach and squeezing out excess liquid, break apart and crumble into bowl.  Pour cashew sauce over spinach.  Use a fork to mix spinach into sauce, making sure that you break up any clumps.  Add the spices to the cashew/spinach sauce.  Stir well to combine.

image

image

image

Enjoy!

You can make this dip in advance and keep in the fridge for up to a week.  (If it lasts that long!)  It will thicken up once in the fridge.  Feel free to add more spices or sea salt according to your taste.  I find myself putting a dollop of this spinach dip on baked potatoes, rice and beans, lasagna, enchiladas…  Did I mention that I love spinach dip??

Leave a Reply

