Enchilada Prep

Why roll tortillas when you can layer them.  I get so frustrated when tortillas tear while trying to make enchiladas.  Brown rice tortillas are impossible to work with.  Instead of stuffing and rolling each tortilla, I layer them as you would lasagna.  Problem solved and just as delicious!!

I started with a combo of green and red enchiladas sauce in the bottom of my baking dish.  Added a layer of tortillas, my stuffing and more sauce.  I repeated 3 layers, topping with sauce.  Cover and baked to reheat @ 375 for 30-40 minutes.  The stuffing consisted of sautéed onions, tempeh, portobello mushrooms, hatch chilies, garlic and chipotle peppers in adobo sauce.  I also roasted cauliflower seasoned with chili powder, cumin, garlic, sea salt and pepper.  I’m not a fan of vegan cheeses, but you certainly could add.  Top with fresh guacamole and cilantro before serving.

tortillas.jpg

Leave a Reply

